SUPPORT HB 2621 – Please contact the House Education Committee

Reclaim1

We need your help today, please, to make several quick phone calls to save Kansas children from a dumbed-down curriculum; to make a critical defense of the United States and Kansas constitutions; and to pushback against federal expansion.  The House Education Committee members will be hearing HB 2621 on Wednesday, February 19 at 1:15pm, and we need HB 2621 to pass out of the committee.

  • The Kansas Board of Education adopted the national K-12 Common Core standards in English and math in 2010 in order to score points on a federal grant competition…a competition we did not even win….money we did not get!
  • As a result we now have the Common Core standards (Kansas College and Career Ready Standards), and they are of poor quality:
    • They fail to prepare students for studies in science, technology, engineering and math.  They put our students two years behind their peers in high-performing countries by eighth grade, and they are even worse for high school.
    • In English language arts, the Common Core severely de-emphasizes the study of classic literature in favor of drab and simplistic “informational” texts.  It does this despite the fact that the overwhelming evidence is that children should be reading more, not less, classic literature.
    • Prominent child psychiatrists and psychologists have heavily criticized the standards as being age-inappropriate for young children.
  • The Kansas State Board of Education also adopted the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) in June 2013.  The NGSS standards fail to prepare children for college science courses.
  • Kansas needs to reclaim its authority over education.  It needs to get out of the standards and develop world class standards that the Kansans control.
  • The state legislature can do this with passage of a simple law.

Please call the members of the House Education Committee listed below, and respectfully tell them to support HB 2621.  They need to help lead Kansas out of the Common Core this session.

If you can only make a few phone calls, here are the most important representatives to contact:

Rep. Ward Cassidy, Vice-Chair (785-296-7616) ward.cassidy@house.ks.gov
Rep. Sue Boldra (785-296-4683)  sue.boldra@house.ks.gov
Rep. John Ewy (785- 296-7105) john.ewy@house.ks.gov
Rep. Amanda Grosserode (785- 296-7659)  amanda.grosserode@house.ks.gov
Rep. Kelly Meigs (785-296-7656)  kelly.meigs@house.ks.gov

If you can contact more, here are the rest of the members:

House Education Committee

Rep. Kasha Kelley,  Chair (785-296-7671) kasha.kelley@house.ks.gov

Rep. Ed Trimmer, Ranking Minority Member (785-296-7122) ed.trimmer@house.ks.gov
Rep. John Bradford (785-296-7653)  john.bradford@house.ks.gov
Rep. Carolyn Bridges (785-296-7646) carolyn.bridges@house.ks.gov
Rep. Diana Dierks (785-296-7642) diana.dierks@house.ks.gov
Rep. Willie Dove (785-296-7670) willie.dove@house.ks.gov
Rep. Shanti Gandhi (785-296-7672) shanti.gandhi@house.ks.gov
Rep. Dennis Hedke (785-296-7699) dennis.hedke@house.ks.gov
Rep. Ron Highland (785-296-7310)  ron.highland@house.ks.gov
Rep. Roderick Houston (785-296-7652) roderick.houston@house.ks.gov
Rep. Jerry Lunn (785-296-7675) jerry.lunn@house.ks.gov
Rep. Nancy Lusk (785-296-7651)  nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov
Rep. Melissa Rooker (785-296-7686)  melissa.rooker@house.ks.gov
Rep. Valdenia Winn (785-296-7657) valdenia.winn@house.ks.gov

COMMITTEE EMAILS:
kasha.kelley@house.ks.gov, ward.cassidy@house.ks.gov, ed.trimmer@house.ks.gov, sue.boldra@house.ks.gov, john.bradford@house.ks.gov, carolyn.bridges@house.ks.gov, diana.dierks@house.ks.gov, willie.dove@house.ks.gov, john.ewy@house.ks.gov, shanti.gandhi@house.ks.gov, amanda.grosserode@house.ks.gov, dennis.hedke@house.ks.gov, ron.highland@house.ks.gov, roderick.houston@house.ks.gov, jerry.lunn@house.ks.gov, nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov, kelly.meigs@house.ks.gov, melissa.rooker@house.ks.gov, valdenia.winn@house.ks.gov

It is time for citizens to once again direct government.

We must push back against special interests and federal expansion.  Please help do that.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s